Everyone needs a… Bagel

Yesterday I made bagels, hence the name of this post, if you haven’t figured it out!!

I love bagels but I’m quite fussy, I don’t like those New York bagels that come in a bag, I think the bag makes them all dry but soft. I like the chewiness of a bagel. So to get them just right I like to make my own. An people are really super impressed when you make your own bagels, they think its a really tricky thing to do, and I’ll let them believe that! Teehee

20130624-174756.jpg

You can tell they are home made because not a single one is the same size as another!

I follow a Great British Bake Off recipe to make them but this time I didn’t have quite enough white bread flour so I used about 100g of whole grain flour in the mix and they worked out really yummy. I often find baking with all whole grain can create quite a solid bread so I like to mix it up.

Another top tip is to use yeast extract (marmite) in place of the malt extract that the recipe asks for. I know a lot of people don’t like marmite but you don’t really taste it, it just adds a nice savoury depth to the bagel.

I really enjoyed baking and eating these bagels and its nice to make something yourself from scratch instead of buying them in.

Jenny x

4 thoughts on “Everyone needs a… Bagel

  1. Pingback: Lunchtime Review : Pulled Pork Bagel | Geek Ergo Sum

Leave a Reply

